When Is It The Right Time To Change Jobs?

Are you a job-hopper, or are you just trying to widen your experiences?

Shamar M
3 min readMar 23, 2022
Photo by Brandable Box on Unsplash

I started my current position in September 2021 after leaving a job I had been in for only 5 months.

I want a new job already.

My biggest problem is that I keep restricting myself to dull, repetitive administrator jobs. When I had graduated back in 2018, the idea was to get an administrative job just to keep the funds coming in after being made redundant.

Even though I’ve moved up one or two positions on the administrative career ladder, I know I’m worth more than this! It’s time to progress, but is it too early? Consistently changing my career would be the start of my job-hopping.

According to totaljobs.com, job-hopping is “changing jobs regularly. Holding each role for a relatively short period, for example, one year.”

One year? Ops! I wonder how six months or less look to recruiters and hiring managers…

Why do people job-hop?

Firstly, our generation isn’t stupid. Those aged 30 and below are fully aware that companies aren’t loyal to us — regardless of the benefits of being an employee at that organisation. Why shouldn’t I move on and do what I want to do? Why…

--

--

Shamar M

27. Based in the UK. PG DIP HR Management. Chief of publication The First Time. Editor in About Me Stories.